Our Story Content

Our Story


HomeTown Credit Union was chartered on May 21, 1974 as OTC Employees Federal Credit Union, with the purpose of providing services to the OTC and Truth employees and their families. Our office was located in the basement of OTC, which eventually moved to the Depot building next to OTC. In the years following we expanded our field of membership to include other companies in Owatonna and we moved to our current location on Bridge Street in 1993. We merged with the Faribault Woolen Mill Credit Union in 1996, opening an office in the Faribault Depot building. In 1997 we opened up our membership to provide services to those that live, work, attend school, or worship in Dodge, Rice, Steele, and Waseca County. This allowed more people to enjoy the benefits of Credit Union membership. In 1999 we opened an office at the Owatonna Hy-Vee Store to increase our hours of service and offer an alternative location for our members. In 2011 we partnered with the Owatonna School District to open a student-run branch at the Owatonna High School, as a means to improve the financial literacy skills of our youth. Today we are serving over 16,000 members in the four county area, with offices in Faribault and Owatonna, including an office in the Owatonna Hy-Vee Store and the Owatonna High School.

The Credit Union is in business to serve our members, and our mission is to be your trusted partner for financial success. Our staff and volunteers have worked diligently to fulfill this mission, and to support the communities we serve.

Who We Serve

If you live, work, attend school or worship in Dodge, Rice, Steele or Waseca Counties of Minnesota you are eligible to become a member.

NCUA Share Insurance Information

Deposit Insurance to $250,000 Now Permanent

Your savings are federally insured by the National Credit Union Administration (NCUA) to at least $250,000 and are backed by the full faith and credit of the U.S. Government. For more information visit the NCUA website: www.ncua.gov.

Your Insured Funds Brochure from NCUA.

Communities work best when they work for each other. Discover the credit union difference.

Credit Union Management:

  • Kim Westphal, President/CEO
  • Tom Tuma, VP Finance
  • Chad Corcoran, VP Operations
  • Abe Albee, VP Business Development & Marketing
  • Tina Radel, Lending Operations Manager
  • Sara Morris, Real Estate Loan Manager
  • Chris Snow, IT Manager
  • Sara Quiggle, Accounting Manager
  • Jennifer Mueller, AVP Member Engagement
  • David Dorsett, Owatonna Branch Manager

Our Volunteer Board of Directors

  • Nicole Schulz, Chair
  • Perry Christensen, Vice-Chair
  • Scott Markman, Treasurer
  • Donna Braun, Secretary
  • Vickie Skala, Director
  • Danielle Hager, Director
  • Brian Bentley, Director
  • Shelly Rockman, Director
  • Doug Holmes, Director

Our Volunteer Supervisory Committee

  • George Walter, Chair
  • Lynn Erickson
  • Tiffany Kriesel
  • Melinda Grant

Volunteer Opportunities

Volunteers play a critical role in the success of HomeTown Credit Union.

The Board of Directors is responsible for setting Credit Union policies and determining the direction of the Credit Union. They hold monthly meetings and periodic strategic planning sessions. Directors are elected to three-year terms after which they may be re-elected. Elections are held at the Credit Union Annual Meeting.

The Supervisory Committee is responsible for ensuring that the Credit Union manages its assets and conducts operations in a safe, sound and fiscally prudent manner along with making certain regulations, procedures and policies governing the Credit Union are followed. Supervisory Committee members are appointed by the Board of Directors.

These volunteers are all members of the Credit Union. This unique structure sets credit unions apart from other financial institutions – credit unions are truly run by the members for the members.

If you have an interest in contributing to the success of YOUR Credit Union by serving as a Credit Union volunteer, please contact Kim Westphal at 507-455-6728.